Have you ever been out to lunch with a friend you thought was a vegetarian and then are confused when he or she orders the chicken Caesar salad? What a hypocrite, you think to yourself as you smugly bite into your mushroom burger.
It used to be that “vegetarian” was an easy-to-understand dietary lifestyle. A vegetarian eats no meat. Simple as that. Today, however, the definition of “vegetarian” has grown to become a looser term that is used to describe multiple styles of eating.
Pollo-vegetarian: excludes red meat and fish, but includes chicken.
Pesco-vegetarian: excludes meat and poultry, but includes fish.
Lacto-ovo-vegetarian: excludes meat, fish and poultry, but includes dairy products and eggs.
Lacto-vegetarian: excludes meat, fish, poultry and eggs, but includes dairy products.
Vegan: excludes all animal products and any foods containing by-products of these ingredients.
There is also the growing popularity of the semi-vegetarian, or flexitarian, who consumes meat and poultry on occasion.
The next time somebody describes their eating style as vegetarian and then requests sushi for dinner, instead of questioning their morals, keep an open mind and ask them what type of vegetarian they are.
Nobody likes an Aunt Voula.